Timur Bekmambetov’s “Night Watch” (2004) was one of the most successful Russian genre films of all time. Based on the bestselling Sergei Lukyanenko’s novel, the epic historical horror sci-fi chronicling the life of an alternative universe plagued with vampire lore and a constant battle between the light and the dark side was nothing like what was available in Russian cinema up to that point and catapulted Bekmambetov to an international career with “Wanted” or “Ben-Hur”.

This release of Yuri Poteyenko’s score has been in the making for several years. It is arguably one of the finest achievements of the composer’s career. The fight between the two sides of magical warriors was obviously a great inspiration for Poteyenko who went on to highlight the eternal struggle with great overarching themes, a love theme for a doomed romance and epic battle music for the fight of immortals. The CD comes with a generous booklet with Gergely Hubai giving a complete breakdown of the score, including the various cuts of the film circulated on different markets. A Limited Edition of 200 copies!

Track List:

  1. Prologue (4:37)
  2. The Call (7:07)
  3. Waiting (2:48)
  4. Taste of Blood (0:51)
  5. Near the Death (4:35)
  6. Go There! (2:08)
  7. Rivet (1:17)
  8. The Prophecy Comes True (3:04)
  9. The Confession (2:30)
  10. Suitcase (1:45)
  11. Friends and Enemies (3:32)
  12. Shadowing (3:40)
  13. Light and Darkness (2:57)
  14. Vortex / Exorcism (1:25)
  15. The Great One (6:32)
  16. You Are Absolutely Healthy (2:04)
  17. Lift (0:45)
  18. Shadows of Past Sins / The Bloody Battle (8:13)
  19. The Choice (4:13)
  20. Hope (3:04)

Total Time: 67:56

Order the new CD release here.