As part of Barbican’s Contemporary Music Concerts series, in January 2016 The Orchestra of the Guildhall School performed in a retrospective concert of composer Debbie Wiseman’s film, TV and concert work.

Silva Screen released this concert, Live At The Barbican, digitally on March 24th. It features a wide selection of Debbie’s most acclaimed  film and TV compositions including Wolf Hall, Flood, Wilde and Arsene Lupin.

A British composer for film and television, Debbie Wiseman was born in London and began composing music at the age of eight. She went on to attend the Trinity College of Music’s Junior Department, and after finishing her time there, she studied piano and composition at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Upon completion of her studies, she quickly landed a job for a Channel 4 documentary, which launched her career as a composer for the big and small screens. Over her varied career, she created the music for high-profile serious television dramas like Wolf Hall and Dickensian, alongside the scores for documentaries including Joanna Lumley’s Nile, Fry’s Planet Word, and Palin’s New Europe. Wiseman gained more exposure for her work on the big screen.

The composer was responsible for the music in Haunted, Wilde, Lesbian Vampire Killers, and Tom’s Midnight Garden. Her score for the 1997 Oscar Wilde biography starring Stephen Fry earned her many accolades, including a nomination for an Ivor Novello Best Original Film Score Award, and assured her frequent appearances in the Classic FM Hall of Fame. In 2011 she was signed to Warner Classics, and released her first solo album, Piano Stories. In 2004, the composer made the Queen’s New Year’s Honors list and was honored with an MBE, and in 2012, she was selected as one of the nine composers chosen to write music for the Queen’s Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant.

Track List:

01. Wilde West (From “Wilde”) (2:01)
02. Wilde (From “Wilde”) (5:39)
03. Tom’s Midnight Garden (From “Tom’s Midnight Garden”) (4:19)
04. Wolf Hall (From “Wolf Hall”) (4:13)
05. The Truth About Love (From “The Truth About Love”) (8:35)
06. Flood (From “Flood”) (4:49)
07. Lesbian Vampire Killers (From “Lesbian Vampire Killers”) (7:10)
08. A Poet in New York (From “A Poet in New York”) (3:44)
09. Haunted (From “Haunted”) (6:42)
10. Father Brown (From “Father Brown”) (4:12)
11. The Whale (From “The Whale”) (3:54)
12. Arsene Lupin Suite 1st Movement (From “Arsene Lupin”) (2:22)
13. Arsene Lupin Suite 2nd Movement (From “Arsene Lupin”) (4:44)
14. Arsene Lupin Suite 3rd Movement (From “Arsene Lupin”) (3:02)
15. Arsene Lupin Suite 4th Movement (From “Arsene Lupin”) (5:29)
16. Jubilee Gigue (From “The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Pageant”) (7:37)

Listen to clips from the concert here.

In order to purchase the new digital release, please visit label’s official page.